Why Pokemon Shuffle Doesn’t Work For Me

Pokémon Shuffle was released forever ago. February 18th to be exact. When it came out, I ignored it, stuck in my bias that it was Free Too Play garbage, and I had tons of other stuff to play. My mom and sister checked it out, and they seemed really into it, so around April or May I decided to give it a try.

Pokemon Shuffle is a match three puzzle game with pokemon. You match pokemon to beat the pokemon you’re fighting in a certain turn limit who will put obstacles in your way, and then you try to catch it. It’s really simple and lots of fun. But there’s a slight issue which divides people on whether it’s a good game or not. Each time you enter battle, it costs a heart. Hearts are regenerated every thirty minutes, and you can accumulate up to five. Which is kinda dumb when each match lasts about 30 seconds. You can buy crystals, which gives you more hearts, although you can earn a small amount of crystals in game. I’ve rarely heard of people spending money on the game, most players just play every two and a half hours and don’t spend a dime.  People who play that way are quick to lash out at those who criticize the system, saying that not wanting to play that way is impatient.

Pokemon Shuffle breaks my heart. I love the gameplay. But it doesn’t work for me. I’m a person who has a full time job, a hour drive to said full time job, and lots of socializing to do outside that full time job. Usually the way I play video games is a few hours a few times a week, and a game that’s wants to be babysat like a Tamogotchi is not going to cut it. I’m probably playing less then ten minutes all week. Yes, I could buy crystals, but the amount of money I would be shelling out would be way too much compared to what playtime I would be getting because the rate isn’t that good, and there isn’t a cap.

I don’t think Pokemon Shuffle is utter garbage though, I think there’s definitely a way to play it and enjoy it, it just doesn’t work for me. I don’t think the argument that everyone who doesn’t like Pokemon Shuffle hearts system is impatient is valid either. If you’re someone who doesn’t play videogames that often, it is really underwhelming. Meanwhile, I’ll probably pick up Pokemon Battle Trozei, which is only $7.99, and will fit much better to my playstyle as well as play Pokemon Rumble World (which I will point out that I actually spent money on compared to Pokemon.

pokemon-shuffle-169

 

3 Comments

Filed under Pokemon Shuffle!

3 responses to “Why Pokemon Shuffle Doesn’t Work For Me

  1. Mom

    I don’t look down on people who don’t want to play it. But it’s working for me, especially right now, because if I wasn’t limited to one game every half hour I would probably be playing it non-stop. Yeah, nervous obsessiveness has kicked in.

  2. Like you, I played Pokemon Shuffle a while after it came out, and I enjoyed it for a short time but kinda lost interest quickly. It’s very similar to free games I have on my phone like Candy Crush Saga – a puzzle matching game where you get a certain number of tries that take thirty minutes to regenerate unless you pay for them. I’m not driven enough to progress in the game to spend money on it, so I found myself going through all my hearts in 10 or so minutes and then being unable to play again for a while, which is probably a big factor in why I lost interest before too long. I’d rather focus my time and energy on my favorite games, like the regular Pokemon games, that I can play for hours straight without being interrupted. But I can accept games like Pokemon Shuffle for what they are, they’re just not that appealing to me😄

    • I feel the exact same way. I can accept them, they’re just not for me. I wish other people would have that view, they’re for others, but not for me, rather then “This is game is exploitative crap.” or “You’re not patient enough.”

Leave a Reply

