12 Days of Christmas Day 2: Playing Card Games is Sexy

In Shoujo, there’s a lot of generic predictable stories. Girl meets boy, don’t like each other at first, and through the course of various stories fall for each other and start going out, and then the series focuses on the trials of their relationship until it climaxes with them deciding to be together forever or something.  It makes for good reading and I may devour them like mad. 

But it doesn’t make very good anime usually. I don’t know if it’s the anime that ends up adapted or the pool out there, but it usually plays out like a reverse harem anime, or boring as hell.

Good shoujo anime seemed like a thing of the past. Or did until a fall anime decided to surprise everyone.

Love it or not, in my opinion Chihayafuru shows the type of shoujo which makes entertaining anime. The viewer doesn’t know which, if any guys will get the girl. The drama is a mix of a ridiculous cheesy drama, where the fun comes from how absurd it is to a make a big deal over x,  to well done drama. This show has already made me cry a couple times, I’m a little ashamed to admit. The series just managed to make me care about the characters, and be so touching.

Also, it’s beautiful, and a lot of work is done on the character. They’re all gorgeous, even characters who have attributes that shouldn’t make them attractive.  The characters in a shoujo anime should be stunning beautiful. That’s one of the trademarks of the manga series is big panels of pretty art. Usually when shoujo characters make the lept to anime, they turn very ugly, and it’s nice to see a case where they stayed pretty.

The best part? There are so few anime out there with pretty guys, but this isn’t one of them. Chihayafuru’s main men are incredibly sexy. They’re both such different character, and sexy in different ways. I don’t think I could choose between them–I’d have to keep both.

Yes, this is a manga image. But I won't complain if you won't.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “12 Days of Christmas Day 2: Playing Card Games is Sexy

  1. Taka

    I quite enjoy Chihayafuru as well. I think it’s the best shoujo I’ve watched since Skip Beat. It also helps that Chihaya reminds me strongly of Nodame who is only my favorite female anime character ever.

  2. Being a fan of both shojo and sports manga, this show pleases me greatly, but I think I’d like it even if I weren’t a fan of those things. It’s just really well done and fun to watch.

Leave a Reply

