Food Is Serious Business at my Previous College

Lately, my family has been struggling to get the refund we were promised from my previous college, which has been a bit of a financial problem. Having paid for semester at one college, then having to pay for a quarter at another–even community–without a refund, is not cheap. My mom had contacted them this morning, and they said my bill needed to be sorted out first. Well, I got my bill this afternoon…

According to this, my meal plan for the semester is close to six times the cost of tuition at my college! With that sort of price, you’d expect that we each had a personal chef that served us only the highest grade meat and exotic fruits every day, not the typical standard cafeteria style fare you see at colleges. I wish. Although, if they did have personal chefs, it’d really increase retention rate!

I will say that I definitely didn’t agree to pay this much when I signed the contract, and once I’m done chuckling, there will hell to pay. Also the cafeteria people at my former college were wonderful, and obviously not responsible for this. It’s the administration and bursar’s office that kinda, well, isn’t so hot. And would be really nice if it just refunded our money rather then ending up dealing with…this.

Edit: This is not how much my meal plan should cost. It was already paid off. They either goofed royally at the bursar’s office or are being a  pain in the butt to us about refunding the money.

11 Comments

Filed under College Life, Real Life

11 responses to “Food Is Serious Business at my Previous College

  1. RP

    wow, that’s a heckuva meal plan

  2. Wow, meal plans are really expensive. I use to have a commuter plan when I transferred colleges, but it was way too much money and you can’t use the card everywhere… So I got a debit card and my parents give me amount of money to spend on food. Eventually got a credit card to earn points on food, which isn’t that much these days.:/

  3. That’s BS. You should run in there with guns blazing (literally)….(no not literally you’ll get arrested).

  4. That is ridiculous. I mean…what? No. Just no.

  5. Highway robbery if you ask me!!!!!

  6. Yi

    Oh wow seriously? That’s some expensive meals. For that price, they should have Emeril Lagasse or Iron Chefs in the kitchen.

Leave a Reply

