Chunnibyou Demo Koi ga Shitai first impressions

KyoAni does one thing very well. Cute girls doing cute shit. So it’s pretty easy to figure out whether to watch Chunnibyou blah blah blah. Is this your sort of thing? If it is, Chunnibyou is your show. If it isn’t, you probably didn’t enjoy the first episode that much.

That said, the main character of Rikka and the idea of chunnibyou is an interesting one. Especially as the show likes to tease whether the main character is delusional or really does have powers–although personally I’d lean on the side of delusional. However, it’s pretty evident though that cute girls being cute is going to be the prevalent thing going on.

As for me, I’m still very mixed on the show. I like cute girls, but I’m not sure how I feel about an exaggerated weeaboo/Chunni/whatever being presented as cute. But when it’s fictional, it’s entertaining in some twisted way to watch someone act that way. I want to resist, but in the end I enjoyed it and hated myself for enjoying it.

All children should be given large weapons.

On an ending note, I’m not sure what’s up with the school rep’s hairstyle. It looks strange.

 

1 Comment

Filed under First Impressions

One response to “Chunnibyou Demo Koi ga Shitai first impressions

  1. I kept feeling serious embarrassment for the main guy. And looking at the main girl like “what are you doing you crazy thing?”. As of episode two my favorite character is the girl’s older sister. I wish I could keep track of names.

Leave a Reply

